Week 9 – Mondly

I wanted to look at some ways online that people learn languages. This is a language app for learning other languages. At the basic level it is free and actually has a decent amount of vocabulary and some phrases for free.

This shows the opening page right after you sign up (without a credit card). You can choose the more advanced version for $9.99 a month. That gets you voice recognition (if you are within internet range). The vocabulary is available once it uploads to your phone even if you are out of cell range (which my house is).

Screenshot 2018-03-25 19.22.52.png

The Hello balloon has eight lessons all of vocabulary and phrases. It also gives you verb conjugation.

The “chat bot” is only available with a subscription.

The disadvantages are that there doesn’t seem to be any over riding method to the lessons. Sometimes the vocabulary fits together and sometimes it doesn’t. It does not remind me of my classes in languages in high school. However, it does do a nice job of repeating pronunciation over and over if you want to. I am working on Arabic. So here is the second drawback, it does not teach writing the Arabic alphabet. I had to get a second app for that. I also watch You Tube videos.

I have been using this site as well: Arabic Course

It takes a more traditional approach and gives more of an overview.

Why is she learning Arabic? I have a English teaching job in Abu Dhabi, UAE in the fall. I am pretty excited and was trying to figure out how to “do as the Romans do” – I thought I would “brush up” on my Arabic. They actually speak English there, but 98% of my students will be Emirate. I liked this site and it was cheaper than a couple of others. The You Tube classes are great! Learn to Write in Arabic

However, the focus of my post today is really the Mondly site. I did a few searches and checked out a couple. It was the easiest and carried the content well when I am offline at home (out here on the island – no cell service). It also had Arabic which not all of them have as many choices at Mondly does. Babbel for instance did not have Arabic. Rosetta Stone is super expensive.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Week 9 – Mondly

  1. This is awesome! I was using Duolingo for learning Norwegian. It is quick and convenient but I really link how I was able to interact with Mondly. It also had Norwegian as a language to learn. I also like the different speakers that they have on the app. I’m adding this as one of my learning resources. Thank you so much for sharing.

    Like

  2. Wow what an opportunity you have for the fall! This seems like a great resource to bush up on your arabic. Do you think it works better to learn a new language from scratch or do you need a bit of prior knowledge in a language to use it?

    Like

    1. I am having to supplement. I like having an explanation and there isn’t any – just words and phrases. It reminds me of being on the street trying to learn in a foreign country.

      Like

  3. Very cool! I have never tried using a language-learning app but this one seems great. I’ll have to check it out an see how much spanish I remember! Good luck with the teaching job, that sounds so fun!

    Like

  4. This is awesome! I think it’s really great that you’re teaching abroad, and I love that programs such as this exist. I might suggest this to my students if they finish their work early and want to do something different that’s still educational.

    Like

  5. I might look into this for learning Spanish. I have also used Duolingo, but found it kind of boring. I think this could be a better fit for me. If I can get Spanish down, then I can move onto Swedish! Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  6. I am interested by the map layout. I’m noticing lots of gamification with these language apps, it is great incentive. I wish there was a study to show us the most effective one, but I bet it differs by learner.

    Like

Leave a comment